Win 7 Security 2011

Ok so my machine got infected by a Trojan and Win 7 Security 2011 hijacked all programs. It was a Friday eve and I just wanted to watch a light movie after deployment day @ work. But Win 7 Security 2011 had other plans.

It claimed to purchase it online for some 50 odd bucks or the system can not be recovered. It was obviously fake and too cliche to fall for.

I tried to run Spybot S&D in Safe Mode but it could not detect this Trojan :(. Spybot has always been kind to me. I tried to use Spyware Doctor but that didn’t help either. At last Avira anit-virus came to the rescue. I knew Avira scan will take 4-5 hours. So I started a full system scan and went to bed. After full system scan, it could detect 3 files that were a threat and the bad Trojan was one of them. I moved all 3 to quarantine and my system was up again. Yipee!!! Atleast whole weekend was not ruined.

Avira can be downloaded from here.

Thanks,
Your’s Truly

About Badal Chowdhary

I am a Software Engineer by profession. I have done SCJP and SCWCD certifications. Like working on cutting edge technologies and frameworks. Driven by challenges and fascinated by technology. I love playing and watching sports: Cricket, Ping Pong, Tennis, Badminton, Racket Ball and Gym.
This entry was posted in Computer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

